Portland, day two


I woke up early again and hit the cafe to write. Once Nick made it downstairs, we tried to go walk, but I still wasn’t feeling too well. We parted ways for lunch. I ended up back at the cafe and once we reconvened, I wanted to check out a music store. The baristas had been jammin to TV on the Radio and I was in the mood for some local tunes.

We journeyed a few blocks over to Everyday Music. Picture Empire Records without the chicks. I ended up buying Kasbian, Mika Miko, two albums of local artists, and several singles all for only $35.

Excited with my finds, I went back to the cafe to import music. I was on Facebook for a second chatting with my friend Val. She told me she had a college friend who lived in Portland that I should call. We exchanged information and decided to meet for a drink later that evening.

We decided dinner at Whole Foods would help us regain our health. We were going to rest before we met up with Kate for drinks, but the bar next to the Ace seemed to lull us to its spirits.

There was a whiskey menu that would have impressed Janis Joplin. I tried an Old Fashion, another house specialty and then a mixture which contained Absinthe. I thought I was about to see the green fairy, when Kate finally called to meet up.

She and her friend Becca joined us at the bar. Nick was hammered and began to hit on Becca. I think had he had one less drink, he might have stood a chance.

He wasn’t really much for bar hopping, so I left with Kate.

We had been in the Southwest part of Portland. The city is kind of divided into four quadrants, like D.C. Kate lived in the Northwest part, so we walked there.

I love meeting people from South Louisiana in other parts of the country. It’s like you’ve known them for years. We never skipped a beat and Kate was more than hospitable. After a beer, she hailed a cab for me and we planned to meet up for lunch the next day before we were to leave for Eugene.

I had a life-encouraging talk with my cab driver on the way back to the Ace, which I will write about next because it deserves its own entry.

I was starting to fall in love with Portland. I loved myself there. I didn’t care for my allergies, but it was a place I could see myself as a dweller, a liver.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

