Leaving Portland


I finished writing and sulkily headed back to my room to pack up. We hauled, what seemed like our whole current lives, downstairs and proceeded to check out of the Ace.

This had to be one of the best hotel experiences…not only of the trip, but ever. The entire staff was genuinely helpful and obviously enjoyed their place of employment. Plus, the spot was so right on for conveniently touring Portland.

Before I walked the block to get Louis, I asked the concierge if he knew where we could get an oil change. His eyes widened and for the first time I saw fear in this sweet man’s face. “I have no idea,” he said, shamefully. “No one has ever really asked me that, and I haven’t driven a car in over five years.”

I was not the least bit offended. Instead, I admired the “green” city I was standing in. There were more bikes and pedestrians than vehicles. It was quite different than where I am from, both in mindset and structure.

Before he started to search for a place (and believe me, he was already three steps ahead of me), I told him not to worry and that we would find something once we got to Eugene.

I walked the few blocks to the parking lot and breathed one of my last Portland breaths. No one thought I was a tourist. No one really thought anything of me. It was an odd comfort. A fellow pedestrian smiled at me as I crossed the street. I took one last look at Powell’s bookstore and then hopped in my vehicle. He smelled like home.

I pulled Louis to the front of the Ace and we piled our luggage, djembes, more books, and pillows as best as we could in the “L” shaped space of the Element. As Nick went take pictures in the authentic photo booth in the lounge, I looked at the interior and seriously wondered how on earth we were going to fit Rick into this picture.

Rick is studying for a doctorate of Physics in Eugene. He is originally from Lafayette and I would see him quite often at the Rok Haus when I worked there. When I first realized I was going to take a trip this way, I sent him a message on Facebook (which seems to be such a catalyst) to see if he would want to ride home with us instead of flying home for his summer vacation. I also knew he had mutual friends who lived in Fort Collins, Colorado, which is a place I wanted to visit along the way. He seemed enthusiastic about the idea.

I had called him at some point when we were in New Mexico to warn him that it may be a tight squeeze. He laughed it off and said it would only be himself and a stick with a red hankerchief tied at the end for his belongings.

Despite his chipper attitude, I was still wary of the space.

Before I could overanalyze the situation any further, Nick jumped in shot gun and we were ready for the road again. Louis meandered along the river road to the Interstate as my mind drifted along the current of Portland.

Maybe this would be my dwelling space one day. Maybe I was only supposed to absorb this energy for a short time. Regardless of the maybes, the moment was over for now. I nodded my head in respect of the universe and gave the maybes to God.

I was only able to drive 30 minutes before I had to switch with Nick in order to nap. The fatigue was starting to set in and we would be in Eugene in an hour. Rick and his friends were finishing their finals and the party that night was supposed to be “EPIC”. I knew I would need any rest I could get.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

