Deliriously Eugene


I awoke on Hilary’s couch to the sun luring me from sleep. Where was this moment at sun rise?

I couldn’t fall back asleep, so I followed the rays to Louis for a chance to go find my purse. I guess I forgot to mention that I had left my purse at the girls’ apartment the night before. I drove to the quaint road and knocked on the door.

No answer.

I didn’t have my phone at this point either,  so I couldn’t call Nick. I scoped out the parking lot and didn’t see Sal’s car.

I decided to drive back to Hilary’s to wait for everyone else to wake up. Hilary lives above a bakery. I tried to open the door that leads to a staircase to get to the apartment, but it was locked. I hadn’t bathed in days at this point and I was going on a few hours of sleep during a 72-hour span. I didn’t really want to go in public, but there was no other option. I entered the buzzing bakery.

I ordered a bowl of soup and LARGE coffee as I tried to hide my morning breath.  My laptop had been in my car, so I figured I could try to get in touch with Rick on Facebook. The Internet connection was weak, then my battery died.

I would now have to wait.

Fortunately, I only had to wait 5 minutes before I saw Rick open the door and peek inside. He was confused as to why I wasn’t on the couch, and because he couldn’t get a hold of me via phone, he decided to look for me. Tah dah. I didn’t drift far.

I finished my brunch and we headed back upstairs. One of the girls was now at Hilary’s and gave us a time to meet at her apartment to get my purse. The crew wanted to have one last meal together in Eugene, so we found another cafe to embark upon. Nick and Sal met us there.

We talked about education in America and how it needs to be improved, but we’re not sure how to do it.

I personally feel we need to remind kids how to LEARN. That way, whatever they want to learn throughout life, they know how to personally process something. We don’t remember equations or dates 20 years later, but we do remember how we process things. Am I saying it’s not important to learn these subjects? Not at all. What I am saying is that it should be reiterated to students WHY they are learning certain things.

I will get off of this pedestal now, before I ramble on for days.

After lunch, we went back to Rick’s for showers and naps. It felt so amazing to get rid of the grime. What did not feel amazing were my sinuses. I had to purchase a few packs of Kleenex and I was empty within a few hours.

What better way to feel better than ice cream? Prince Puckler’s is a home-churned, local shop. I got this two scoop chocolate masterpiece that erupted from a waffle cone. YUMMY!

As if we hadn’t eaten enough, we met up with some of the gang at Macminiman’s. Beer and salad is always a great combo.

We then decided to head to Maria’s house to watch a movie and allow Rick to say a final good-bye to his friends.

Yet again, we embarked upon an emotional farewell. However, right before we were leaving we realized several of the crew were headed in the same direction, so we decided we would follow one another in the morning to Bend, Oregon and have one final lunch.

We packed up at Rick’s and set the alarms for 6:30 a.m.

It was my final night in Oregon.

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

