The First Update


tree

My view for the next few weeks. A surprise Christmas tree that is toddler appropriate–ornaments on only the top 1/3 of the tree. The lights are cheery. 

For the past two weeks I have been either on the couch or in bed. I feel like I’m in some sort of an alternate universe. I even ate spray cheese on a cracker yesterday. It’s weird.

However, it’s not unproductive. I’ve really focused on prayer, rest, gratitude, and healing. All while watching The Vampire Diaries (which I finished yesterday, so I am in the market for a new series to binge watch on Netflix), and trying to complete my graduate school work that is due this Saturday. All things are possible.

I saw my high risk doctor yesterday for the first time since parting from the hospital. An extensive hour-long ultrasound was performed where I saw way more of my insides than I ever thought possible. Dax is very much still a wiggle butt although somehow he managed to gain almost an entire pound in less than two weeks. He is now at 2 pounds 12 ounces and so far everything looks perfect.

Now comes to the interesting part of really having to discuss my uterus. There is no chance that the previa or accreta will go away. However, upon a very thorough examination, it seems as though the accreta is smaller than it was two weeks ago. My doctor said this was “very encouraging”. Now what does this mean for me?

The most dangerous part about this condition is during my delivery, as is for every single woman’s delivery. The kicker for my condition is that having a hysterectomy after a section is more difficult. The way my doctor explained it yesterday is that the blood vessels are much bigger during a pregnancy (part of the fascinating way the female body ensures getting nutrients and essentials to the baby in utero). Trying to take the placenta and uterus out after a delivery can get risky.

What is encouraging is that if the accreta stays this size, there is a chance I will not have to have the hysterectomy. I would still have to have my tubes tied because another pregnancy would mean an 80% chance that this would happen all over again. BUT, this would be much safer.

By no means am I out of the woods yet, but rather than having to see the high risk doctor every other week, she didn’t feel like there was a need to see me again for another five weeks. This will give us a more logistical approach as to what will really happen. Other complications could arise, but for now I am relishing in this state of gratitude, which is far more healthy for my healing than drowning in a case of the “what-ifs?” We’ll get through whatever comes this way.

So now, it’s hopefully 5 more weeks of rest, prayer, gratitude, and healing until we know a little more. I am trying to embrace this opportunity and utilize all of its wisdom. I know this strength is derived by the grace of God and outpouring of love and support from what seems like all corners of our country and beyond.

A tremendous thanks for all who have prayed, loved, sent messages, brought colors, helped, cooked, and just all around rocked my positive presence. I couldn’t do this without you.

With love,

Elise

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

